The Warrior Chapter 4

Chapter 4

That morning, I woke up with my head throbbing. Lucinda taught me the difference between night and day even though it is dark. She told how to know the temperature of the weather and I am now an expert. I walked to the creek and dunked my head in the water the cool water helping my head hurt less.

When I woke up, I totally forgot about Adler. “Good morning Sam,”

 I screamed, I pulled out my knife, “Who’s there?” “Whoa Sam, it’s me Adler.” Then he started laughing. I put my knife down annoyed, my hatred toward him grew even more, “Why are you laughing.” I snapped. He kept laughing, “You should have seen the look on your face. You looked pretty funny, with your hair all wet.” He was still laughing. My hair was stuck to my face, I groaned inwardly, I bet I looked like an idiot, no wonder he was making fun of me.

“I’m leaving soon. And my name is Samara not Sam.” and walked off. “Wait!” He said and caught up with me, “I owe you an apology, I shouldn’t have said that yesterday. I still want to go with you. Even though I still don’t believe in the voices thing, I would rather join you than sit around waiting to be killed. And before you say no I have a map.” I looked at him eagerly, I lost my map months ago, when some stupid cats took my backpack and tore through everything. I ate them. They deserved that. “Can I see it?” “Unless you say I can go.” I rolled my eyes, “fine, you can go.” He nodded in agreement and took out the map. I put on my goggles, “So, where are we?” I pointed to a place where it had many little triangles ~ ~ ~ that indicated they were mountains. I may not be able to read, but direction was my sixth sense. Before I lost my map. Over all, this is what the map looked like:

 

Map of Old America

ê The Silver Mountains     Lake Justice

p p p p p p p p p h h h h h p p p p p p p p p p p p

h h h h h Oslo River

h h h h h h h h Heron River

Field Of Victory

ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø

ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø

ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø

ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø

ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø

ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø ø

 

Adler looked confused, “So, where are we?” “You’re mimicking my question.” I muttered. I studied the map. I looked around me, I saw the river where I met Adler about 100 yards from me, then I turned around and saw another river that was farther than the other one.

I looked on the map and saw six squiggly lines h h indicating that there were two rivers. “We’re right here,” I pointed to the lines. Adler shook his head in amazement “How do you do that.” I shrugged, “Don’t know, don’t care, by the way, what are all these symbols?”

“They’re not symbols they are letters. For reading.” “So can you read this?” “I can give it a try. OK, that says Map of America-” I gasped, “Map of America?” “Yeah, isn‘t that where you’re supposed be?” “Yes! It took me 2 years to find this stupid place. Finally!” “Ok this says Lake Justice, and if I am correct these mountains around us are the Silver Mountains. Those little stars make up a field.”

I pointed to the two rivers, “Cool, so where are we now?” “River Oslo, and that one over there,” he pointed, “Is the Heron River.” I nodded “OK so I don’t know exactly where I’m supposed to go so for now let’s camp here until I feel something.” Adler was confused, “Feel what? Oh yeah, you’re waiting for the “voice” to speak to you.” He laughed.

I grabbed the map shoved in into my pocket and left, I didn’t care if he was to live. I didn’t even know why The Voice wanted him to live; it was obvious he didn’t believe me. So I will let the ninjas get to him “Wait! I’m sorry!” I heard him running after me but I didn’t look back then I heard- “So we finally meet again, Son of Aliah.”

I heard Adler speak up I was surprised he didn’t sound scared.

“Hello, first off, do NOT call me that. I want nothing to do with your “society” just because my parents are a part of it doesn’t mean I’m a part of it.” I turned slowly hoping these creepy guys didn’t hear me. They didn’t, I saw one of the ninjas, he was evil-looking, wearing all black like a ninja, but he took his turban off. He was completely bald, with a scar along the side of his face. With a patch over one eye, showing he lost one eye somehow.

He grinned maliciously. “I was afraid you would say that. Your parents miss you. They want you to come back, and they know of the girl. You trust her? Do you know that she’s been wanted by our King for close to 3 years?”

 Adler’s confidence shook a bit a saw him flinch, but he didn’t say anything. I sighed, forgetting I was close to the bald man. He looked around suspiciously, “What was that?” Adler panicked, “Nothing, I just sighed.” Baldy said, “I heard nothing from you, where’s the girl.” Adler said nothing. I was surprised; surely I thought he would have ratted me out.

But he stood there meeting Baldy’s eye, “I am never going to tell you, you can go back to The King and tell him to leave us alone. Baldy shook his head. “Oh, you will never get that pleasure.” And took his Samurai out, his other ninja followers took there swords out as well.

I counted there were at least 6 of them including Baldy. I took a deep breath and took a huge sprint towards one. What happened next was all in a blur. One of Baldy’s men threw shurikens at me I dodged them easily, and caught two in both hands, luckily I was wearing heavy duty gloves, or those blades would have seriously hurt me, I threw them back expertly and cut his hands off. He dropped the rest of them and cursed bitterly in his tongue, from the corner of my eye I saw Adler battle another ninja with katanas, man those were evil-looking swords. I finished one guy off, and another, and another, until there was one guy left. Baldy was standing there, as if he enjoyed the scene and he had this look like if he knew we were about to die.

I turned to the last guy. He was about 6’6 and very skinny, he had one pure black eye and one yellowish eye. His skin had a deep tan, and from the looks of his hands, he had been in many battles. I have fought a lot of people. The other ninjas weren’t too bad. But this guy was on the top of the list for scary. He pulled out two kunais (knives), unfortunately, he could see in the dark as well as I could. He did martial arts moves that made my fighting technique look amateur. But I watched the way he moved. He had a slight limp. Not noticeable, but to a survivor, it was as obvious as an oak tree. He moved quietly, we circled each other.

By then Adler was already finished with the sword ninja and came to help me. We attacked. He threw both swords at us, I did a backbend. I am also flexible as a rubber band. I bounced back up. He came at us, He yelled in a language foreign to me.

Adler came at him, “No Adler!” I yelled, ninja flipped around and leaped in the air at him one minute Adler was standing, the next on the ground. “NOOOO!!” I screamed, I rushed at him, I jumped on him. Scary I know, but with my legs around his neck I brought him down, and delivered a severe blow to his Adam apple. Ninja didn’t move, I stood over him, he was dead. I was sure of it. I heard laughter, I turned. I saw Baldy, he clapped. His clap echoed the forest we were surrounded in. He looked pleased, which bothered me. “Well done Samara.” “How do you know my name?” He grinned wickedly, “Oh Samara, I know all about you.” My thoughts turned to Lucinda. I grabbed the extra sword off of the dead ninja. Baldy shook his head, “I wouldn’t do that if I were you.” And with that he disappeared into the darkness.

12 thoughts on “The Warrior Chapter 4

  1. I like your writing! I like to write too, but i can’t sit and write in detail. You have a very good story going 😀 I have a story on my page and the title of the post is “Just another story” maybe you could read it and tell me what you think… again its not in detail :s

    1. Sure! But let me warn you, I am still you could say “in training” when it comes to writing haha. I read some of it and when I have more time I will sit down and read the whole thing. I like what I read so far though, the only problem was spelling and punctuation 🙂

  2. You know, or maybe you don’t, you have the reader thinking all of a sudden that Samara cares what Alder thinks. You told me before that she doesn’t. If she hated him as much as you want it to seem, then she wouldn’t think “no wonder he was making fun of me.” She wouldn’t care, no?

      1. Ah. Very clear. It is good to have a full idea of your characters’ feelings, though readers like to know too. You might want to clarify this little point later, e.g. “I still wasn’t sure about Alder. He treated me differently than anyone else. For one thing, he wasn’t trying to kill me. I didn’t know how to react, but he was growing in my esteem.” I don’t know if that’s what you want, so…? Don’t feel obligated.

Leave a Reply

