The Warrior Chapter 10

 

Chapter 10

 

 

 

I collapsed on the soil. I had walked for three hours and I was exhausted. He didn’t even think about giving me water or food. So I was really thirsty and hungry,”Please, can I have a break? I need some water and my legs are really sore” Baldy stopped his horse and faced me. “You will have a break when I say so.” He pointed the gun in my direction.

I sighed and got up. I was exhausted, I have walked for longer, but yet walking with Baldy drained my energy. He was so negative that every time he would say something, even if it was a grumble; My hope that I wouldn‘t get killed would lower a little. He noticed my hope slowly dwindling, and continued to ramble on about nothing. Like, “I remember killing 5 zombies with one shot with this gun.” or “Look how puny you are I can’t believe you survived this whole time without getting slaughtered or eaten.” The next thing he said got me angry, “I remember your parents. They were nice people.” I asked him many times how did he know my parents but he said nothing.

 In spite of how many times I asked. He would smile, laugh, and say, “Oh you wouldn’t want to know.” I got sick of asking him, but his words replayed in my head like a record, “I remember your parents.”How did he know them? Did they work for him? Did they die because they knew too much? I was desperate for answers, but I got none.

My mind would go back on Adler now and then. But every time I did, I would swear I would get my revenge on him. I hated Adler, why did he turn me in? I thought he trusted me. He just used me for information. Then I paled, they probably have the book… I needed that book. I almost cried at the thought of not having the book safe on my back, in my backpack. I shook my head and cleared my thoughts. I couldn’t think about the past. Now I was back to my one goal again: SURVIVE.

But then I didn’t want to survive anymore, I lost hope, and I lost my mission. This was it. I fell on my knees again. Baldy looked at me and rolled his eyes in disgust. He pointed the gun at me. I was ready for this, “How many times do I have to tell you,” He yelled, “Get up and get moving!” I closed my eyes and bowed my head. Preparing for the shot that would end my life. I heard a laugh, then I heard him load his gun, “If that’s the way you want it girlie-” I heard commotion, I was puzzled what was happening?

 I saw Baldy on the floor with blood on his head. I cautiously approached him, my hands were still bound. He was unconscious all right. He would wake up with a bad headache, I saw a rock, it looked like the rock hit him…

“Boo.” I jumped and turned around. Adler was standing there smiling at my jumpiness, “You’re too jumpy.”

 “I know.” I looked at him confused, “What are you doing here?”

“Wow no ‘thank you Adler for saving my life’?” he joked. I frowned as he cut off my ties; I reached for the gun and pointed it at him. He held his hands up, “Whoa, wait a minute. What are you doing?” I wanted to explain. Maybe give him a chance, but this guy was going to be dead. I was sure of it, I felt like teasing him for a minute first. “What I’m doing, is pointing a gun at the person who turned me in. So what’s the punishment for betrayal? Hmmm… Let me think about that.”

I was about to pull the trigger when he said, “Wait. Turn you in? What in the world are you talking about?” I took my finger off the trigger. “Baldy here said you turned me in, he said you ratted me out.” Adler was surprised, “No I didn’t when you left I didn’t run into anyone. I kept walking, then I felt guilty and came back when I couldn’t find you. I saw your message and came looking for you.”

I lowered my gun, “So, you’re saying you didn’t turn me in?” he nodded, “I would never do that to you. You are my only friend. Why would I do that to my only friend?” I breathed a sigh of relief; he walked up and hugged me. “You ok?”

I nodded, “Yeah a little, I’ll get over it.” I pointed over to Baldy with my head, “What are we going to do with him?” as if on cue, he grumbled and opened his eyes. I kicked him in the head, and he went back into the world of darkness. “Shall I kill him? Or should you do the honors?” Adler looked tempted to do it but shook his head, “I would love to, but now is not the right time. If we did, we would have his whole army on us, and I’ve seen them. We wouldn’t last 2 minutes with them. But don’t worry. We’ll get him sometime.”

I nodded, and held up the gun, “But I’m bringing this baby,” He laughed. I loved it when I made him laugh he would tilt his head slightly upward and laugh for a while. My eyes got big, “We’ve got to go back.” “Why?” “Because I left my book and supplies there.” He held up my pack, “Its ok, I got it all in here. But I was in such a hurry I forgot the extra meat.” I felt relieved, “Thank you, I was freaking out for a minute and don’t worry about the meat. It was already burned.”

 We kicked Baldy once more to make sure he was really out and tied him up to a tree using the rope he used on me. When we were finished I saw the horse eating some grass in the distance, I nudged Adler, “It looks like our journey has gotten easier.” Adler nodded, “I was trained to ride these, so I know how to handle them”

 We walked up to the horse. The horse didn’t seem to care; I patted his silky mane, “Let’s name him.” “What do you want to name him?” he asked. I thought about it, “How about Thor? It means thunder.” Adler smiled, “Sounds good to me.” Adler explained to me how to ride a horse but it sounded confusing, “Eventually I’ll get it.” I thought. We took the saddle off the horse since it was uncomfortable with two people on it. Adler said he liked riding bareback better anyways. So Adler rode up front and held out his hand and I got up and sat behind him. I put my arms around his waist and rested my head on his back and we rode off. As I rested my head on his back I heard his breathing, it was calm and slow. I felt my heartbeat go faster and forced myself to calm down. Unknown to us, we had more than one enemy on our trail.

 

3 thoughts on “The Warrior Chapter 10

Leave a Reply

