The Warrior Chapter 21

Chapter 20

I screamed, “Adler! No Alder! I told you not to die.” The King hushed me, “Shh, its okay.” He whispered into my ear, “Turn around.”

I turned away from the mirror which showed Adler’s body being torn to pieces, I wiped away my tears and saw Adler. He was in one piece, no blood or scars; just himself. He saw me and his mouth was open in disbelief just as mine was.

He walked forward slowly, as did I. When we were inches apart he held my head softly in his warm hands, “Are you real?” I laughed. “Yes Adler. I am real. Are you real?”

The King walked towards us. We were so happy we couldn’t let go of each other. We pulled apart from our embrace and faced the King, “Adler kneel.” He said.

“Adler, your spirit soars like your name Eagle. By the powers vested in me, I knight you. Sir Adler,”

He pulled out his sword and knighted him. I was surprised and excited for him. The look on Adler’s face was in shock, “Really?” Then blushed on how stupid he sounded.

The King laughed, “Yes son, really.”

Then Adler looked up at him and said, “You are the wind beneath my wings, there is no place I can go without you watching over me. I thank you for everything you have done for me. You will always be in my heart.”

When he was finished, The King had tears in his eyes, “Come here.” He said and gave him a hug. I had tears in my eyes as well.

Then he faced me, “I know you are wondering about your parents. They are here, they live in my kingdom. Do you want to meet them?” My hands shook; I looked down nervously and nodded.

I heard someone call my name, “Samara?” I looked behind me.

There was a woman, she seemed about thirty years old. She had auburn hair, and stormy grey eyes. She looked so familiar… “Mom?” The woman put her hands over her mouth and wept, “Oh Samara!” And she embraced me, “Why? Why did you have to die?” I asked.

She pushed my hair from my eyes and held my face. She was shorter than me, and she had a lot of freckles, she seemed like a five-year old on the outside. She looked so content, “Because if we didn’t die, you wouldn’t have helped kill The Dark King.”

“So… This is my destiny? Where is my father?” My mom pointed behind me, “Right behind you.” I turned and faced my father. I looked more like him. He had blue eyes and a beard, but his hair, body frame, smile, and nose were just like mine, “Daddy?” He opened his arms and I went into them. I felt at home. My mom joined in the family hug. We were there for a while not saying anything. Just tears from the past, being washed away right that minute.

We walked towards the King. I bowed, “I can’t thank you enough for what you have done for me.” He smiled, “You deserved it. Now I am going to send you back to Earth, more people need you, the war is almost over. We won, the rest of the creatures are hiding out in the depths of the woods. But eventually they will be forgotten.” I looked at Adler, “What about him? Can he come back? And my family?” The King nodded, “All of them, including your parents Adler,” He pointed in the distance.

Adler saw two figures walk towards him, “Mom, Dad!” He ran towards them and embraced them tightly, “I thought you were dead.” Adler’s mom laughed. She had pretty blonde hair which was shoulder length. Her hazel eyes sparkled with joy, and her laugh was contagious, “You can’t get rid of us that fast.” Adler’s dad spoke. I noticed he looked more like his father, “We missed you. We saw you get killed and we weren’t afraid. Somehow, we knew we  were all going to be together again.” Adler smiled; he was in so much shock he didn’t know what to say. He looked at the King who gave him his life back.

Then he was looking at me, I was not looking his direction, I was talking to my parents when he I felt a hand on my shoulder.

I turned and saw Adler, “So you have your life back.” I asked.

He nodded, “And I see you have yours too.” I smiled and looked back at my parents who were smiling, “Yeah, I can’t wait to get to know them.”

“Will you live nearby?”

I thought about it, “I am not sure, maybe. I don’t know.”

“Well, I talked to the King and this field.” He pointed to the mirror which was still there. I saw the field where my life got turned around completely, “This field is mine. The King gave it to me. I am going to build a house.”

For a minute, I was sad. I might never see Adler again. I gave him a hug, “Well, I hope it goes well, expect for the splinters.”

He laughed, “Well, I need to find someone who can get me lunch while I’m building this house. And some one who can read to me from this  book.” I looked down and he had the book. I gasped, “Adler! You have the book! I thought you lost it.”

“Samara. What I am trying to say is I need some one by my side. And I can’t bear to think what my life would be like without you.”

My heart was beating faster, “Me neither.” I whispered. Then he leaned forward and kissed me. It  was the most beautiful thing I have ever felt.  I felt loved, and cared for, and I never wanted him to let me go again.

5 thoughts on “The Warrior Chapter 21

  1. Great ending. I love this story, Esther! I hope to see more of your work. You’ll definitely go far loving God the way you do. I’ll keep following you blog, and I hope you’ll keep following mine.

Leave a Reply

