I Remember…

My Love:

I remember you holding me tight. Telling me everything is going to be alright. I remember holding your hand and feeling the cold go away. I remember you kissing the top of my head, and I felt safe. I remember you telling me that you would miss me. I remember you leaving…

My Sister:

I remember your laugh. You would giggle when I would make a funny face. I remember reading to you until you fell asleep, and tucking you in bed and you tell me I am the best sister in the world.

My Mama:

I remember you holding to me and singing to me. I remember you carrying me on your hip and singing in Spanish until I would giggle and I would dance with you.  I remember you reading to me before bed, and I remember you teaching us how to read and write. I remember your smile even though there was pain. But you still kept your head up for us.

My Older Brother:

I remember walking every day to a school. Talking about everything in between. I remember late night conversations. I remember telling you my darkest secrets, my fears and worries. I remember you making me laugh and making me smile. I remember the comfort of knowing that we will never be apart.

My Lost Sister:

I remember looking at you and knowing that we were going to be best friends. I remember telling you everything. I remember the times you would call me scared and I would comfort you and let you know everything was going to be fine. I remember being silly with you. I remember the fun summer when we went to the lake. I remember crying when I found out that I lost you. I remember knowing in my heart that I will see you again one day.

My Bodyguard:

I remember feeling safe in your arms. I remember building puzzles with you, and when you would joke around with us. I remember you carrying me on your shoulders and I felt like an eagle. I remember target shooting with you, and you telling me about your childhood. I remember when you started getting down. I remember the safe arms grow weaker every day…

 

Leave a Reply

