Mark Twain vs. Public Schools

Anti-Stratfordian Mark Twain, wrote "Is S...

Image via Wikipedia

I had a recent conversation with my mom about Mark Twain, and I  found out  I really like him!

He was a rebel in the writing world, writing about black people and calling them the ‘n’ word.

But that was the way it was in those times. You weren’t called an African-American . You were a Negro or a n****r. Now the public schools are trying to take those words out of his books. They may even pull them from the libraries at the schools.

WHY? Kids who read need to know that information. The United States of  America has always been a racist country

Please don’t tell me that I shouldn’t  speak about this because I am white, which I  am not.  I am  part Brazilian, my maternal great grand father’s skin was black.

So please leave  history ALONE. I bet Mark Twain would be furious if he saw these people trying to re-edit his work. I know I would be mad.

3 thoughts on “Mark Twain vs. Public Schools

  1. Just because something in our history isn’t nice or pretty doesn’t mean we should try to forget about it. We need to learn from it so we don’t make the same mistakes again. For instance, some people are trying to soften the history of WWII. A lot of kids now don’t even know who Hitler was. Yes, WWII was a terrible time in history, tragic things happened, it’s disgusting, sad, and horrifying, but that doesn’t mean we should forget it. We need to remember how horrible it was, we need to learn from it so that we can prevent it from happening again!

Leave a comment